Josefus: Dead Man (Numero Group)



Josefus is one of the greatest heavy metal bands you’ve never heard. Their sound is a blend of blues-rock and heavy metal. One might be tempted to label them as followers of Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath, but to do so might prove slightly incorrect, as the Houston-based band formed at roughly the same time, with their first recordings coming out before Sabbath’s, and while one might rightly compare Pete Bailey’s falsetto to Ozzy‘s, it in fact sounds like a dead ringer (ahem) for Jeff Buckley.

The album exists in two parts: sides one and two. The first side features five songs of compact, succinct hard rock. “Crazy Man” and “Country Boy’ feel like the blueprints for the burgeoning Southern rock scene, especially Lynyrd Skynyrd. “I Need a Woman” follows, and it’s an amazing workout for Bailey’s powerful voice; he’s singing from a very powerful place, unlike anything else being heard in 1970. Their cover of Rolling Stones classic “Gimme Shelter” feels more like a Rosetta Stone for appreciating the place where Josefus was coming from, as does the obvious lift The Beatles “I Want You (She’s So Heavy)” riff in the menacing scorcher, “Proposition.” The seventeen minute jam of “Dead Man,” a dark, ominous rocker that builds and burns, and while it reaches great heights, one can imagine, though, that this was a highlight of the band’s live sets; this studio version of the song has an almost restrained feel to it, one that would surely come out in live performance, and makes one long to see the band onstage to do just that.

On the back of the album cover, the following statement is made: “This record should be played LOUD.” What truer words have been spoken? Dead Man was self-released in 1970, and though it was only heard regionally at the time, it has since became an underground cult classic.

It’s really not hard to understand why.

Tagged as: , , , , , ,

3 Responses »

  1. Hi, i have a japanese replica cardboard sleeve Mini LP CD album of this. It was made from P-Vine Records.

    Tracklist from the CD:
    01. Crazy Man – 3.39
    02. I Need A Woman – 4.23
    03. Gimme Shelter – 4.06
    04. Country Boy – 3.13
    05. Proposition – 4.45
    06. Situation – 1.56
    07. Dead Man – 17.28

    08. Aristotle [early recording 1967] – 2.38
    09. I Love You [early recording 1969] – 2.29
    10. Get Off My Case [Live 1969] – 3.53
    11. Louisiana Blues [Live 1969] – 8.23
    12. Light in Heaven [Live 1969] – 4.16

    13. Hard Luck [Reunion 1979] – 3.46
    14. On Account Of You [Reunion 1979] – 6.23
    15. Let Me Love You [Reunion 1979] – 2.42
    16. Big Time Loser [Reunion 1979] – 3.27


  1. 3AM Eternal: Josefus: Dead Man (1970) | The Recoup
  2. Song Of The Day: Tanya Tucker, “Hard Luck” – The Recoup

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: